Apr. 5th, 2009

dragonimp: (One of those days)
Just finished watching the premiere episode of the new FMA. My reaction was a resounding:

Meh.

It's probably just this episode. It felt too cramped. They were trying to introduce too many characters and too many concepts at once. One of the great things about FMA - both the manga and the original anime - was the gradual way the story played out. This felt rushed. Once the story proper gets going it'll probably be fine, but I really wasn't impressed by the pacing or the storytelling here.

Also, based on the teasers, I was expecting a lot more from the animation. It had its moments, but it also felt awkward.

It's going to take me a while to get used to Roy's new voice, too. It just doesn't have the depth and resonance I'm used to.

Riza wins for one-liners, though: "Please only be useless on rainy days, sir."

January 2020

S M T W T F S
    1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 02:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios